May 30 – June 2 Weekly Work Log

May 30 – June 2 Weekly Work Log

Session Number 6
Week Number 1
Total Estimated Hours Contributed this Week 3
What is/was your overall goal for this week? I’m interested in learning more about rhythm sections, and maybe trying to compose some.

Work Tasks

Date Task Description Time Spent  Was / Were your choices and work Best Practices? Why? 
5/29 N/A
5/30 I watched some of 8-bit Music Theory’s “How to Write Drum Parts (for non drummers)”. ~30 minutes Most of the information was stuff I had general knowledge of, but it was explained with better detail why a rhythm is generally structured the way it is, which was nice.

I also made a little beat in Online Sequencer that was stuck in my head (inspired by PaRappa the Rapper, haha).

5/31 I continued watching “How to Write Drum Parts (for non drummers)”. ~20 minutes I learned some interesting things about anticipation and matching the dynamics between a rhythm and melody section. I also heard some pretty neat ideas for rhythm, like having the snare keep the steady beat while the kick accentuates.
6/1 N/A
6/2 We just listened to music today. 30 minutes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *